VPN on USG20-VPN - connected, but not passing traffic

Options
ZyxelNewb
ZyxelNewb Posts: 10
First Comment
edited April 2021 in Security
Hi All! I'm new to the Zyxel world, most of my experience is with Palo Alto firewalls. I've setup a basic IPSec remote access VPN using the Quick Configuration Wizard (https://kb.zyxel.com/KB/searchArticle!gwsViewDetail.action?articleOid=015527&lang=EN). I'm running a USG20-VPN with firmware version 4.32 (ABAQ.0) 2018-07-12.   My remote client is a Windows 10 PC using the ZyWall IPSec Client.

I followed the directions in the KB above, and am able to open my VPN connection and connect to the USG20-VPN. I'm unable to ping the VPN gateway, or any clients behind the USG20-VPN from my remote client. From my client behind the USG20-VPN, I am able to ping the gateway, but not my remote VPN client (yes, I've verified ping is enabled on both clients). If I look under the VPN Monitor, I can see that inbound traffic is being passed into the Zyxel, but outbound traffic is still sitting at 0 bytes.  So for some reason, outbound traffic on the VPN tunnel is not sending for some reason.  

I'm stumped as to what is causing this issue - can anyone help provide some insight into this issue? Thanks!

All Replies

• Zyxel_Stanley
    Zyxel_Stanley Posts: 1,367  Zyxel Employee
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    Options

Hi @ZyxelNewb  

The IPSec VPN Client will create a routing table automatically after VPN tunnel is established.

So it means, in local policy setting must be the IP subnet which is belonging to your USG. (e.g. LAN1 subnet)

If you entered a subnet which not belonging USG, then traffic will not pass through to VPN tunnel.

You can make sure if VPN local policy setting is correct, and also check policy control setting avoids traffic been dropped.

• TRM
    TRM Posts: 1
    First Comment
    Options
    I am having the same issue.