Problems port forwarding on USG20W VPN

elkrust
elkrust Posts: 24  Freshman Member
First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector
edited April 2021 in Security
I am no super techie, but I have enabled port forwarding on many residential style routers in the past but the interface for the USG20W VPN has stumped me. Here's my scenario. Essentially I would like to forward port 22 to a device on my internal LAN at 192.168.1.34. I have a VDSL Modem, and the Zyxel is configured for PPoE. Everything else works fine except for this one and only incoming service I require. I have tried Port Forwarding via the Easy Setup/Port Forwarding route (no joy), then tried to edit the Policy Control for that entry but no joy either. I have put the device in the DNZ - no joy. I am running the latest version on the firmware (as of Nov 2017). Any guidance would be greately appreciated. Thanks in advance.

All Replies

• ChrisGer
    ChrisGer Posts: 205  Ally Member
    First Anniversary Friend Collector First Answer First Comment
    @elkrust
    Normaly there are only two steps to configure NAT from the extranet to your internal network.

Step 1
    Configure NAT rule from external (WAN) - Port 22 to the destination Network (internal-device-IP) and the internal Port (e.g. also 22). cofigure tcp and/or udp as required.

Step 2
    Configure a security ploicy (firewall rule) from WAN to DMZ (if located in the DMZ) and source IP = any / Destination IP = the LAN IP from your device / Port = 22
    If you are connecting from internal networks to the device, too - please checkup the NAT Loopback option.

Regards
    Christian
  • andi
    andi Posts: 4  Freshman Member
    First Comment
    edited November 2017
    Dear elkrust,